Limbe Botanical Garden, 1:600, 1896

Ella den Elzen

20.09.2023 - 15.05.2024

On the special occasion of CURRENT – Art and Urban Space Ella den Elzen addeed an artwork to the display of objects found in nature by the artists of the previous exhibitions in WUNDERKAMMER – NATURALIA I ARTIFICIALIA Ventilation, hydration, and humidity systems regulate the false environment of the botanical garden. Within its glass-encased wrought-iron… Continue reading Limbe Botanical Garden, 1:600, 1896

read more

Verkehrsstücke

Mélissa Marieller

20.09. – 24.09.2023

On the occasion of CURRENT – Art and Urban Space, Mélissa Mariller adds works from the series Verkehrsstücke to the collection of utilitarian objects from Swabian middle-class households in the WUNDERKAMMER – NATURALIA I ARTIFICIALIA Mélissa Mariller’s work lies at the intersection of design and contemporary art. The fusion of these two fields creates objects… Continue reading Verkehrsstücke

read more

The trouble with disorderly detail

Ella den Elzen

20.09.2023 - 16.03.2024

The trouble with disorderly detail Aluminum lightboxes with laser cut aluminum frames 60 cm x 100 cm x 20 cm The trouble with disorderly detail (sound) Audio Composer / sound designer: Alice Z. Jones Taken from Cameroon, undated Archival photograph printed on backlit transparency film 25 cm x 32 cm Taken from Cameroon, undated Archival… Continue reading The trouble with disorderly detail

read more

A Squawking Showcase And Other Parrot Tales

Carlos „Marilyn“ Monroy

20.09.2023 - 16.03.2024

In artistic collaboration with: Camilo Bojaca and Nicolas Vicaino – Diorama Painting, Alse Design – Costume Based in a study of a flock of wild Amazon parrots sighting in the Stuttgart metropolitan area since 1984 – in between Bad Cannstatt and the Schloss Rosenstein area – the project Schwäbische Amazonen plans the development and execution… Continue reading A Squawking Showcase And Other Parrot Tales

read more

I Feel Uncanny When You Touch Me There

TZUSOO

12.03. - 14.05.2022

It is about my vulnerable life in the last 6 months, which have been:

1. placed in the virtual world most of time, working as an artist,
2. switched the psychological servers constantly,
3. having uncanny sex.

read more

Artificialia

Shop window stocked and arranged by the owner of the former bed house.

read more
Published
Categorised as Concept

are you profitable

Florian Model

14.01. – 12.03.2022

With the installation „are you profitable?“ by Florian Model the artist asks major questions regarding human labor and therefore live as individuals in a capitalist society. It feels like an ironic, fatalistic and sad comment on valuation of Human Resources and how individuals evaluate their own resources themselves. He simply uses a device known from advertising, the stock market and road traffic to provide his message.

read more

Untitled (zebra finch nest)

Björn Braun

12.02. – 16.04.2022

Björn Braun’s work is based on the process of transformation: In a synthesis of appending and removing the artist generates pictures, collages, objects and installations, which shift between natural formation and artificial shaping. For Braun, paper, wood, fibres and feathers in different manifestations – as industrially produced textiles or as articles found in nature –… Continue reading Untitled (zebra finch nest)

read more

Lamentations

Alicja Wysocka

11.12.2021 – 12.02.2022

She had a smile made with a marker
my mum cut her out
and her hands did attach
and her belly filled with rugs

I was a bit afraid of her
she had white sheet face because she was Lady Winter
so she was bad
white cold sheet dress

I don‘t remember but
They went by the river
They set her on fire and threw her into the river
Her head roll off the stick

White sheet became brown
Paper hands dissolved in the water
Outspread
Did they scream for help?

Here Morana was
fertility and harvest goddess back in the days
of the cycle of rebirth and death
What did they do to her?

Oh Morana, poor Morana
Oh Morana, poor Morana
we will undrown you
we anoint you

Oh Morana, poor Morana
Oh Morana, poor Morana
we will undrown you
we anoint you

Text by Alicja Wysocka

read more

Wundertüte

Johannes Hugo Stoll

13.11.2021 – 15.01.2022

With the installation Wundertüte, Johannes Hugo Stoll shows the results of his collaboration with his father. The project began when his father asked his son if he would make a death mask of him. He agreed on the condition that both of them would make masks of each other. As a result, two bronze casts were created with the title Bronze Wrapped Bubble. The cooperation led to further works in different media: an audio recording of the two singing in the shower and four video works. The latter use different stylistic means, partly abstract and partly documentary, to tell of the father-son relationship and the process of developing a joint work of art.

read more

Unsteady Consistency

Alba García i Allué

16.10. – 11.12.2021

Once the skin of the apple has been scratched, oxidation processes are triggered by contact with the oxygen in the air. The smell of fermentation attracts destructors and the apple soon loses its shape. Life always demands interaction, and this presupposes the instability and changeability of bodies. In the same way, one’s self-image is formed through communication with others or it dissolves. The senses, too, need exchange; consequently, convictions falter and evaporate, like matter.

read more

Limbe Botanical Garden, 1:600, 1896

Ella den Elzen

20.09.2023 - 15.05.2024

Anlässlich von CURRENT – Kunst und Urbaner Raum ergänzte Ella den Elzen die Sammlung von in der Natur gefundenen Objekten der Künstler*Innen der vorangegangenen Ausstellungen in WUNDERKAMMER – NATURALIA I ARTIFICIALIA um ein Kunstwerk Belüftungs-, Bewässerungs- und Luftbefeuchtungssysteme regulieren die fälschlichen Bedingungen des Botanischen Gartens. In seinem mit Glas ummantelten schmiedeeisernen Skelett offenbart das metallische,… Limbe Botanical Garden, 1:600, 1896 weiterlesen

weiterlesen

Verkehrsstücke

Mélissa Mariller

20.09. - 24.09.2023

Anlässlich von CURRENT – Kunst und Urbaner Raum ergänzt Mélissa Mariller die Sammlung der Gebrauchsgegenstände aus schwäbischen mittelständigen Haushalten in der WUNDERKAMMER – NATURALIA I ARTIFICIALIA um Arbeiten aus der Serie Verkehrsstücke. Die Arbeiten von Mélissa Mariller bewegen sich an der Schnittstelle von Design und zeitgenössischer Kunst. Durch die Verschmelzung dieser beiden Bereiche entstehen Objekte,… Verkehrsstücke weiterlesen

weiterlesen
Veröffentlicht am
Kategorisiert in Ausstellungen

The trouble with disorderly detail

Ella den Elzen

20.09.2023 - 16.03.2024

The trouble with disorderly detail Aluminium-Leuchtkästen mit lasergeschnittenen Aluminiumrahmen 60 cm x 100 cm x 20 cm The trouble with disorderly detail (sound) Audio Komponistin / Sounddesignerin: Alice Z. Jones Taken from Cameroon, undated Archivfotografie, gedruckt auf hintergrundbeleuchtetem Transparentfilm 25 cm x 32 cm Taken from Cameroon, undated Archivfotografie, gedruckt auf hintergrundbeleuchtetem Transparentfilm 25 cm… The trouble with disorderly detail weiterlesen

weiterlesen
Veröffentlicht am
Kategorisiert in Ausstellungen

A Squawking Showcase And Other Parrot Tales

Carlos „Marilyn“ Monroy

20.09.2023 - 16.03.2024

In künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit mit: Camilo Bojaca and Nicolas Vicaino – Diorama Malerei, Alse Design – Kostüm Anhand einer Studie über einen Schwarm wilder Amazonaspapageien, die seit 1984 im Großraum Stuttgart – zwischen Bad Cannstatt und dem Schloss Rosenstein – gesichtet wurden, entwickelt das Kollektiv Schwäbische Amazonen (gegründet von Carlos „Marilyn“ Monroy) eine Ausstellung die sich… A Squawking Showcase And Other Parrot Tales weiterlesen

weiterlesen
Veröffentlicht am
Kategorisiert in Ausstellungen

Ich Fühle Mich Uncanny, Wenn Du Mich Dort Berührst

TZUSOO

12.03. - 14.05.2022

Durch die Arbeit erzähle ich von meinem verletzlichen Leben in den letzten 6 Monaten, die wie folgt verlaufen sind:

meist in der virtuellen Welt, als Künstlerin arbeitend,

permanent psychologische Server wechselnd,

uncanny Sex habend.

weiterlesen

Artificialia

Schaufenster, bestückt und arrangiert von der Eigentümerin des ehemaligen Bettenhauses

weiterlesen
Veröffentlicht am
Kategorisiert in Konzept

Sind Sie profitabel?

Florian Model

14.01. – 12.03.2022

Mit der Installation Sind Sie profitabel? stellt Florian Model grundlegende Fragen zu Arbeit zwischen Existenzsicherung und Selbstverwirklichung, und damit zum Dasein des Individuums in einer kapitalistischen Gesellschaft. Suggestivfragen der Marketing-Psychologie ähnlich, verweisen die Texte seiner Videoarbeit auf die Logik der Evaluierung menschlicher „Ressourcen“ zur Steigerung der Profitabilität, lassen sich aber ebenso lesen als Reflexion des Bemühens jedes Einzelnen um status- und gewinnbringende Selbstoptimierung. 

weiterlesen

Ohne Titel (Zebrafinkennest)

Björn Braun

12.02. – 16.04.2022

Ausgangspunkt Björn Brauns Schaffens ist die Untersuchung eines Materials hinsichtlich seiner Verwendungsmöglichkeiten. Er erforscht in wie weit ein Gegenstand verändert werden muss, um ein narratives Element zu erzeugen. Die Idee Material zum Erzähler zu machen ist wesentlicher Bestandteil seiner Praxis. Der Betrachter als Rezipient und Zeuge des transformativen Prozesses kann sich die Erzählung aufgrund ihrer integralen Offenheit selbst erschließen und dabei ein unbegrenztes Spektrum an Bedeutungshoheiten einnehmen. Ein weiteres zentrales Thema seiner künstlerischen Arbeit ist die Zusammenarbeit mit Tieren, häufig mit Vögeln, Mäusen oder Bienen, die er auf unterschiedliche Weise in seinen künstlerischen Prozess einbindet. Mal wird das Tier zur physischen Mitarbeit aufgefordert, mal wählt der Künstler lediglich das Arbeitsmaterial aus und stellt es zur Verfügung, mal greift der Künstler die Besonderheiten eines bestimmten tierischen Habitats auf und formt daraus eine neue Skulptur.

weiterlesen

Naturalia

Schaufenster mit von den Künstler*Innen platzierten Naturobjekten

weiterlesen
Veröffentlicht am
Kategorisiert in Konzept

Lamentations

Alicja Wysocka

11.12.2021 – 12.02.2022

She had a smile made with a marker
my mum cut her out
and her hands did attach
and her belly filled with rugs

I was a bit afraid of her
she had white sheet face because she was Lady Winter
so she was bad
white cold sheet dress

I don‘t remember but
They went by the river
They set her on fire and threw her into the river
Her head roll off the stick

White sheet became brown
Paper hands dissolved in the water
Outspread
Did they scream for help?

Here Morana was
fertility and harvest goddess back in the days
of the cycle of rebirth and death
What did they do to her?

Oh Morana, poor Morana
Oh Morana, poor Morana
we will undrown you
we anoint you

Oh Morana, poor Morana
Oh Morana, poor Morana
we will undrown you
we anoint you

weiterlesen

Wundertüte

Johannes Hugo Stoll

13.11.2021 – 15.01.2022

Mit der Installation Wundertüte zeigt Johannes Hugo Stoll Ergebnisse aus der Zusammenarbeit mit seinem Vater. Das Projekt nahm seinen Anfang mit der Frage des Vaters, ob sein Sohn eine Totenmaske von ihm anfertigen würde. Unter der Bedingung, dass beide wechselseitig voneinander Masken fertigen, stimmte dieser zu. In der Folge entstanden so zwei Bronzegüsse mit dem Titel Bronze Wrapped Bubble. Die Kooperation führte zu weiteren Arbeiten in unterschiedlichen Medien: einer Audio-Aufnahme der Beiden beim Singen in der Dusche und vier Videoarbeiten. Letztere erzählen mit verschiedenen stilistischen Mitteln, teils abstrahierend und teils dokumentarisch, von der Vater-Sohn-Beziehung und dem Prozess der Entwicklung eines gemeinsamen Kunstwerks. 

weiterlesen

Unsteady Consistency

Alba García i Allué

16.10. – 11.12.2021

Sobald die Haut des Apfels angeritzt wurde, werden Oxydationsvorgänge durch den Kontakt mit dem Sauerstoff in der Luft ausgelöst. Der Geruch der Gärung zieht Destruenten an, und der Apfel verliert bald seine Form. Das Leben verlangt immer nach Interaktion, und diese setzt die Instabilität und Veränderlichkeit von Körpern voraus. In gleicher Weise formt sich das eigene Selbstverständnis durch die Kommunikation mit Anderen oder es löst sich auf. Auch die Sinne benötigen den Austausch, folglich geraten Überzeugungen ins Wanken und verflüchtigen sich, wie Materie.

weiterlesen